Peace Prize winners urge countries to ratify nuclear prohibition treaty

10 October 2017

This year Nobel Peace Prize winner ICAN have urged countries to ratify the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. ICAN's campaign against nuclear weapon was adopted by 122 nations in July this year. That agreement is not signed by any of the states that already have nuclear arms.

This include the five U.N. Security Council permanent members, the United States, Russia, China, Britain and France, as well as India, Pakistan and North Korea. Israel is also widely assumed to have nuclear weapons. But it neither confirms nor denies it.